Web Archive‎ > ‎

Club History

Laune Rangers GAA Club is a Gaelic Football & Hurling club based in Killorglin, Co.Kerry, Ireland.

Early Years

The Club was formed in 1888 by two teachers, Jack Murphy & Tom Cronin, who were appointed to Killorglin N.S. in 1888. J.P O’Sullivan was selected as the first captain.

The newly formed club, Laune Rangers, went on to win the Kerry Football Championship in both 1889 & 1890. After being knocked out of the 1891 Championship by neighbours Keel, Rangers came back fighting the next year to reclaim the 1892 title.

In those days, the All-Ireland series was confined to the clubs winning the County Championships. Rangers travelled throughout Munster but to no avail. At the third attempt, they finally became champions of Munster in 1892, beating Dungarvan. Rangers were defeated in the All Ireland played against Dublin Young Irelands.

Rangers won their fourth County title in 1893, but went on to lose their Munster title when they failed to fulfil the fixture.

This marked the end of an era for the ‘Old Laune Rangers’ as they came to be known as.


After a lapse of seven years, Rangers regained the County Football Championship in 1900. Rangers won their sixth County Football Championship title in 1911 defeating Tralee Mitchels. Rangers created history in winning the 1932 East Kerry Senior Football League for the first time, defeating Dr. Crokes in the final.

In 1950, the committee at the time, made the decision to buy a field. The Greyhound Track was purchased in 1951 at a price of two thousand pounds. The field was named after the first captain, J.P O’Sullivan.

Rangers won their first Mid-Kerry Senior Football Championship title in 1958.

Laune Rangers U-12 team win the first underage County title in 1972.

Laune Rangers won five Mid-Kerry Championships in a row between the years 1983 & 1987.

Rangers won their seventh County Championship title in 1989, the first one since 1911.

It was the beginning of a ten-year reign that would see the Blues capture three more county titles and that famed All-Ireland club trophy.

After the breakthrough in 89 they club would go another four years without capturing a Kerry county title, but many knew that it was only a matter of time before they tasted success again.

The club's finest hour came when they won the All-Ireland Senior Club Football Championship in 1996 beating Éire Óg of Carlow in the final.

When they beat Eire Óg from Carlow in the final of the All-Ireland club championship, the general consensus was that Laune Rangers had really arrived on the football map. But, strangely enough, it would be their last title in senior domestic football.

Important Club Dates

• 1888 - Club formed.

• 1889 - First Kerry Championship.

• 1909 - J.P O’Sullivan dies.

• 1913 - Paddy Kennelly was the first Killorglin man to win an All- Ireland Medal.

• 1928 - Killorglin Hurlers took their place in the County Hurling Championships for the first time.

• 1958 - First Mid-Kerry Senior Football Championship title

• 1972 - First under-age County title at U-12.

• 1996 - Laune Rangers win All-Ireland Final.