Web Archive‎ > ‎2011‎ > ‎Senior - Match Reports 2011‎ > ‎

Seniors vs An Ghaeltacht - Sat. 25th June

posted 26 Jun 2011, 05:48 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 26 Jun 2011, 05:50 by Laune Rangers ]

Senior County League - Division 1 – Round 6 - Laune Rangers vs An Ghaeltacht


Laune Rangers:           0-11

An Ghaeltacht:            1-08


Laune Rangers hosted An Ghaeltacht on Saturday evening in the County League. Both teams needed to get points from this game as both are in relegation danger.


It was the visitors who took first blood, when they went through for a point in the second minute. Kevin Flynn replied for the home side with a point to level the game at 0-01 a piece in the 4th minute. Flynn was again on hand in the 5th minute with his second of the evening to put Rangers ahead. Tomás Ó Conchúir pointed for the men from the West in the minutes that followed to level the game at 0-02 each. In the 9th minute, Rangers full forward, Seamie Foley, put them a point to the good having been on the receiving end of a good Colin O’Dwyer pass. This lead didn’t last long however as Conall Ó Cruadhlaoich got his name on the scoresheet with a point from a free in the 14th minute. An Ghaeltacht struck for a goal with 17 minutes on the clock to leave the goal between the sides. Tomás Ó Conchúir found a way through the Rangers backs and slotted the ball passed keeper, Tony Lyons, into the Rangers net, Unfortunately Ó Conchúir injured himself in the process and had to be substituted.(Micheál Breathnach) Conall Ó Cruadhlaoich pointed his second of the evening soon after to give An Ghaeltacht a 4 point advantage with less than 10 minutes to play in the first half. Gaeltacht continued to push and were again rewarded in the 25th minute when Cathal Mac Gearailt converted a free to extend their lead some more. Rangers were given a lifeline in the 29th minute when Shane McSweeney was fouled in the box and a penalty was awarded. Mike Frank Russell stepped up to take the resulting kick but it was well saved by Tomás Mac an tSaoir in the Gaeltacht goal. The rebound came down to Rangers Geoffrey Mahony who sent the ball agonisingly wide. A Mike Frank free in the 30th minute narrowed An Ghaeltacht’s lead slightly, while a final Shane McSweeney effort in injury time left the goal between the sides as the short whistle. Half –Time score: Laune Rangers: 0-05 – 1-05: An Ghaeltacht.

Kevin Flynn opened the scoring for the home side with a well taken point to leave just 2 points between the teams. Shane McSweeney was on hand to increase his personal tally for the evening in the 3rd minute to leave the minimum between the sides. In the 6th minute, Mike Frank Russell levelled the game for the first time since the 14th minute making for an exciting end to the half. Rangers full forward Seamie Foley put them in the lead when he pointed in the 8th minute after some great passing between Geoffrey Mahony and Mike Frank Russell. Peter Crowley had a chance on goal quickly after when he was 1-on-1 with Mac an tSaoir but Crowley sent the resulting shot wide. A Conall Ó Cruadhlaoich point levelled the game once more mid-way through the half. A fisted Johnny Carey point in the 18th minute put the Launesiders a point ahead but this was cancelled out by an An Ghaeltacht point leaving the game 0-10 to 1-07 with 10 minutes to play. In the 28th minute, An Ghaeltacht took the lead leaving Rangers in search of a point to draw the game. Laune Rangers were reduced to 14 men during this time but a Kevin Flynn point in injury time saw the game level at the full time whistle with both teams going away with a point. Full-time score: Laune Rangers: 0-11 – 1-08: An Ghaeltacht.



Laune Rangers: Tony Lyons, Kieran Crowley, Johnny Carey, Cormac Johnston, Pa Sheehan, John Sheehan, Peter Crowley, Maurice Foley, Tom McGillycuddy, Geoffrey Mahony, Shane McSweeney, Colin O’Dwyer, Mike Frank Russell, Seamie Foley, Kevin Flynn. SUBS USED: Jerry Coffey.


An Ghaeltacht: Tomás Mac an tSaoir, Pádraig Óg Ó Sé, Dáithí Ó Sé, Colm Ó Muircheartaigh, Dáithí Mac Gearailt, Tomás Ó Sé, Brían Ó Morán, Daragh Ó Sé, Rónán Ó Flatharta, Seán Micheál Ó Conchúir, Rob Mac Gearailt, Tomás Ó Conchúir, Tomás Mac Gearailt, Cathal Mac Gearailt, Conall Ó Cruaghlaoich, IONADAÍ: Mícheál Breathnach.