Web Archive‎ > ‎2011‎ > ‎Senior - Match Reports 2011‎ > ‎

Laune Rangers vs Gneeveguilla - County League - 27/3/11

posted 27 Mar 2011, 10:54 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 27 Mar 2011, 10:55 by Laune Rangers ]
Division 1 - Laune Rangers vs Gneeveguilla.
Laune Rangers: 2-11
Gneeveguilla:    0-10
Gneeveguilla travelled to Killorglin for this Round 1 County League encounter between the sides. After a good game of football, Laune Rangers emerged victorious on a scoreline of 2-11 to 0-10.
The home team opened the stronger with 3 points inside the first 5 minutes coming from Pa Joy, Mike Frank Russell(Free) and Ciarán Doona. Gneeveguilla replied with 4 points of their own, the pick of these being a long range Fergal McAuliffe effort. Other points from Padraig O'Connor, Donal Murphy, and Michael (Stones) Murphy. Laune Rangers' goal came in the 18th minute. A Kevin Flynn ball across to square saw Ciarán Doona get a touch and put it on it's way into the visitor's net to put the score 1-03 to 0-04 in the homesides favour. Flynn put his name on the scoresheet in the 21st minute to let the goal between the sides. Another huge sideline point from Fergal McAuliffe narrowed the homeside's lead to 2 points with 5 minutes left in the first half. Laune Rangers finished the half strong with points from Shane McSweeney and Mike Frank Russell before Peter Crowley was pulled to the ground after a great run through the centre. The resulting penalty was converted by Mike Frank Russell. A final Ciarán Doona point left the score 2-07 to 0-05 in favour of the Launesiders at the short whistle.
Padraig O'Connor opened the second half scoring with a point for the visitors in the 8th minute. A Gneeveguilla free was put over by Donal Murphy soon after to close Rangers lead. In the 13th minute, Pa Joy went through the centre for a point after being on the receiving end of a good Mike Frank Russell pass. Russell himself pointed in the 16th and 19th minutes to let the game 2-10 to 0-07 in Laune Rangers favour. Gneeveguilla had a goal chance in the 18th minute when a Michael (Stones) Murphy shot rocketed off the crossbar but was cleared by keeper Tony Lyons. A red card for Gneeveguilla's Jimmy O'Leary saw the visitors down to 14 players with 10 minutes to play. The numbers were balanced however when Laune Rangers' centre back, Pa Sheehan, had to leave the field after receiving a second yellow in the 22nd minute of the half. A converted Donal Murphy free in the 23rd minute left Laune Rangers 2-10 to 0-08 ahead. P.J Murphy and Donie O'Connor pointed for the visitors in the closing minutes. A final Mike Frank free left the game 2-11 to 0-10 at the final whistle.
Laune Rangers:
Tony Lyons, Cormac Johnston, Johnny Carey, Kieran Crowley, Shane McSweeney, Pa Sheehan, Peter Crowley, Maurice Foley, Tom McGillycuddy, Ciarán Doona, Seamie Foley, Pa Joy, Kevin Flynn, Mike Frank Russell, Colin O'Dwyer.
Gneeveguilla: Pa Riordan, Brendan Sheehan, Eoin Lawlor, Mike Murphy, Frank O'Leary, Padraig O'Connor, Jimmy O'Leary, J.P. Brosnan, Michael Murphy, Fergus McAuliffe, P.J. Murphy, Sean O'Connor, Donal Murphy, Gerard Moynihan, Donie O'Connor.