Web Archive‎ > ‎2011‎ > ‎Senior - Match Reports 2011‎ > ‎

Glenbeigh/Glencar bridge 36-year gap

posted 23 Jan 2012, 08:37 by Laune Rangers   [ updated 23 Jan 2012, 08:37 by Laune Rangers ]

Glenbeigh/Glencar bridge 36-year gap

Glenbeigh/Glencar 1-10 Laune Rangers 0-11
By Kieran McCarthy

Monday, January 16, 2012

GLENBEIGH/GLENCAR were crowned Mid Kerry senior football champions for the first time in 36 years in dramatic circumstances at Beaufort on Saturday.

On a day when their Kerry talisman Darran O’Sullivan struggled to grab the game by the scruff of the neck around midfield, Glenbeigh/Glencar were inspired by man of the match Raymond O’Connor and Gavan O’Grady when it mattered most, as the club won its first senior district title since 1975.

Second best in the opening half, Glenbeigh/Glencar rallied heroically in the second half, with sub Kieran Courtney grabbing the defining goal just four minutes from the end, to push his side four points clear, 1-10 to 0-9.

But even then Laune Rangers refused to throw in the towel, as the fleet-footed Pa Joy and former Kerry footballer Mike Frank Russell pulled two points back.

It was all in vain though, as Glenbeigh/Glencar held on for an unlikely victory.

But while Rangers bossed the play early on, the sides were tied 0-5 apiece at half-time, with a brace apiece from Russell and Joy and a Seamie Foley point all the Killorglin club had to show, while Gavan O’Grady (0-4) and Raymond O’Connor (0-1) responded for Glenbeigh/Glencar.

Two early O’Connor scores that sandwiched a Danny O’Sullivan effort moved Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-8 to 0-6 clear in the second-half, and while a pair of Russell frees levelled the game once more, Glenbeigh/Glencar had the momentum, with O’Connor, again, sending his team clear, with minutes left.

And that’s where they stayed after a dramatic finale.

Scorers for Glenbeigh/Glencar: R O’Connor 0-5 (2fs), G O’Grady 0-4 (2f), K Courtney 1-0, Danny O’Sullivan 0-1.

Scorers for Laune Rangers: MF Russell 0-7 (5f), P Joy 0-3, S Foley 0-1.

GLENBEIGH/GLENCAR: P O’Sullivan; J Hoare, M Walsh, K Doyle, P Kilkenny, F Griffin, B Murphy; R O’Connor, C McGillycuddy; Danny O’Sullivan, Darran O’Sullivan, C O’Sullivan; J McKenna, G O’Grady, B Houlihan.

Subs: K Courtney for C O’Sullivan (38), R O’Connor for B Houlihan (49).

LAUNE RANGERS: T Lyons; K Crowley, P Crowley, C Johnston; P Sheahan, K Doona, J O’Callaghan; T McGillycuddy, S McSweeney; M Foley, L Hassett, P Joy; MF Russell, G O’Mahony, S Foley.

Subs: R Keane for G O’Mahony (49), C Dwyer for S Foley (58).

Referee: Padraig O’Sullivan (Firies).